Fruit that is Good and Pleasing to the Eye – Part 1

Standard

In my last blog post, That Darn Apple, I expressed what I thought the fruit tasted like that Adam and Eve ate from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil; now I wonder what the fruit might have looked like.

Genesis 3:6 says, When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye…”

Therefore, it had to be very similar to the other fruit on every other tree in the garden that she could eat from. God created the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, and everything God made was good.  So the fruit itself was not sin.  The act of eating the fruit was sin because it was disobedience.

God has given us wonderful good things for us to enjoy. Yet, Satan is the complete opposite of God and uses those good things to tempt us to disobey God’s commands and bring death, like that fruit in the Garden of Eden.  Read the contrast in John 10:10 ~

“The thief (Satan) comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I (Jesus) came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”

Satan uses things in this world that are good and pleasing to the eye to steal, kill, and destroy us from all the spiritual, emotional, mental, and physical blessings God has for us!   Here are a couple good and pleasing to the eye fruits that Satan lures us from being obedient to God’s way:


Ministry: “Oh but it’s ministry, Lord!!  I am working for YOU!  I’m serving You and discipling others!”

Raise your hand if you have ever neglected your spouse and kids because you were involved in some ministry or service to someone outside your home?  2 hands raised here.

I have made the mistake of getting meaning and purpose from ministry. Satan discouraged me first by whispering in my ear, “You are only a mom. You aren’t making big a difference at home. You change diapers, split up sibling fights, say the same things over and over again and no one is listening.  Don’t you remember what it is like to be “Christina” and not just “Mommy”?”   I believed him and took a bite of the good fruit of ministry and it soon became my idol.   He distracted me from my primary ministry: my husband and kids.  As Stephen Kendrick said recently at the True Woman conference, “You may be the most influential person in your husband’s life and the most influential person in your kids’ lives.”  Why would God ever bless any outside ministry if I am not serving my family first?

I praise God for the lessons He has been teaching me as He is stripping me down to a place of minimal ministry outside my home. By God’s grace, He is getting my focus back on the good fruit of my family. Then, I trust that He will continue to guide me to minister outside my home when I obey Him first inside my home.  (Sometime soon I will share about our future ministry as a family that God is preparing me for).

Are there any ministries outside your home that Satan is distracting you too much away from your first calling inside your home?  I love what Paul David Tripp says in his newest book, Parenting:

“Committing yourself to obey one of [God’s] commands never means you will suffer and be punished because it has caused you to disobey another. None of his commands exist in isolation and none of them conflict.”   ~Meaning whatever God has called you to do inside and outside the home, there should be no conflict between the two.

img_3157


Social Media:  Yep, going there.  God has and will continue to use social media for good.  In the last year, I have watched Brett minister to hundreds of people through social media, and even led a few people to a real relationship with Jesus Christ.   If you are reading this blog, you may have come across it on Facebook!  I praise God for the opportunities to instantly connect with people and share the love of Jesus.

However, Satan is all over social media if you haven’t seen it.  I could go through several examples, but for the sake of your time reading this, I’ll touch on a few and see if it hits a nerve.

The comparison trap: “your life is way better than mine” which leads to discontentment.  Or the fact that we can truly have instant communication with anyone, anywhere. It can be secret (if you or your kids have Messenger, check out the secret encrypted messages that are sent and can be instantly deleted).  When your husband asks you to check his requested messages because of girls sending him nude photos…yeah…that’s a BIG problem!   It can suck up time and keep you from doing life on life with real people in front of you.  It can be a “look at me” or “woe is me” temptation. Depression, suicides, friendships break up, affairs, families are never the same, apathy, do I need to go on?

Because of what God has been convicting me about getting my focus back to my husband and kids, I have stepped away from Facebook and Instagram for some time.  It’s actually freeing.  I love it. Instead of scrolling through other people’s lives, I’m taking the time to earnestly pray for my family and friends.  I realized that I don’t need to know what’s going on in everyone’s lives.  It has kept me from comparing myself to others or reading the latest article making me feel guilty for what I’m doing wrong; instead I have only the Word of God and His standard for how I should live my life. You should try it. Take a social media break and see how it impacts your life.  I am convinced you will not regret it.

What are the good and pleasing to the eye things in your life that Satan is distracting you with? I have touched on only two but there are so many more that may be personal to you: food, sex, body image, exercise, spouse, friends, money, career, etc. Ask God to reveal them to you so that you are not taking a bite of something that God means to bring blessing where Satan means to destroy.

2 thoughts on “Fruit that is Good and Pleasing to the Eye – Part 1

Leave a Reply

